Heartland Humanitarians | Tom and Carman Duvall

Toast to Our Towns

September 26, 2020

Humanitarians...Our Heroes.

Each year, Truman Heartland recognizes individuals whose generosity in charitable giving and volunteerism tremendously impacts the region we serve.  We are privileged to recognize those whose philanthropy make our community a better place to live and serve.


Our 2019 Heartland Humanitarians of the Year were  


Tom and Carman Duvall

Tom and Carman Duvall’s passion for philanthropy has made a profound impact in Eastern Jackson County and beyond.

Tom and Carman are best known for the annual music festival, Tomstock, held on the lawn of their home in Independence. Founded in 2014, Tomstock is a fundraiser for The H8 Cancer Foundation and a tribute to the couple’s close friend Keirs Rowley and all who have battled or lost their life to cancer. To date, Tomstock has raised more than $800,000 for cancer research and education.

Carman, a former educator in both the Blue Springs and Lee's Summit School District, has led several initiatives focused on supporting children in Eastern Jackson County. She is a past Chairman and current member of the Blue Springs Education Foundation Board and founder of “The Closet,” an outreach program that provides donated clothing for students in the Blue Springs School District. The couple have been avid supporters of the Drumm Farm Center for Children for almost 15 years and Carman has served on the Drumm Board of Directors since 2013.

Tom and Carman have been champions for Drumm’s COMPASS program since its inception. Lending their financial and volunteer support to numerous projects all focused on helping young adults who have aged out of foster care learn tools for living successful, independent lives. Last year, the couple hosted a cooking class at their home and took the kids to Maverick’s games. During the holiday season, Tom and Carman provide all of the kids at Drumm with two gift cards: one as a gift and one to be used to purchase gifts for others.

As a business owner, Tom passes his conviction for philanthropy on to his employees. President and CEO of TruckMovers, Tom established the TruckMovers Charitable Foundation which provides financial support to nonprofits in the community based on employee recommendations. The TruckMovers scholarship program provides educational assistance for the children of employees. In 2018, TruckMovers received the Philanthropic Business of the Year Award from the Independence Council for Economic Development. Tom is a former member of the Truman Heartland Community Foundation Board.

Tom and Carman have been married for 29 years and have shared their dedication to giving back with their three children. They are engaged in charitable giving through their fund, the Duvall Family Foundation for Children, and have volunteered alongside them, both locally and on mission trips abroad.


Past Recipients

2018 – Robert (Bob) F. Glaser 2017 – Brad and Sandy Cox
2016 – Terry and Betty Snapp
2015 – Mike and Jan McGraw
2014 – Norman Swails
2013 – Dr. Bridget McCandless
2012 – Dave and Shirley Wurth
2011 – Gene and Joanne Cable
2010 – John and Nancy Kimak
2009 – Dave Jeter and Jim Kidwell
2008 – Larry Moore
2007 – Silver Legacy Award, Harry S. Truman Library and Museum
2006 – Dr. Frederick Hahn
2005 – John Jordan “Buck” O’Neil
2004 – Junior Service League of Independence 
2003 – Dr. Robert E. “Bud” Hertzog
2002 – Allen Lefko
2001 – Helen French
2000 – Chuck and Colleen Foudree
1999 – Bob Reeds
1998 – David P. Ross
1997 – Barbara J. Potts
1996 – Byron Constance


4200 Little Blue Parkway, Ste. 340 | Independence, MO 64057   (816) 836-8189   Email Us   Enews Sign up   Donor login