Updates from Truman Heartland's President & CEO | Gearing up for

About our Foundation

About Our Foundation

President's Blog

News and Updates from President & CEO Phil Hanson

Updates from Truman Heartland's President & CEO


Phil Hanson shares information on charitable giving trends and how the Truman Heartland Community Foundation is partnering with individuals and organizations across the region to benefit the Eastern Jackson County community.

Gearing up for the Gala

Truman Heartland Community Foundation’s 26th annual Toast to Our Towns Gala is just a few months away. This special event is a formal celebration of local philanthropy—an opportunity to recognize those individuals and businesses who go above and beyond to make our towns better places to live, work, and serve.

Presented by Blue Ridge Bank and Trust Company, the Toast of our Towns Gala will be an evening to remember. The night begins at 6:00 p.m. with a cocktail reception hosted by TruckMovers, followed by dinner. There will be a short awards program to recognize the remarkable impact of those individuals and businesses who have given so freely of their time, talent, and resources. Following the program, guests will continue to celebrate our honored guests at a lively Mix, Mingle, and Music after-party, hosted by GEHA.

Jim and Mary Stilley of Lee's Summit will be presented with the Heartland Humanitarians of the Year award for their steadfast dedication and advocacy for youth and adult education programs, cutting-edge medical technologies, issues of diversity and inclusion, and the science of climate change. Continental Siding will receive the Heartland Service Award for outstanding philanthropy to both the Independence community and their close-knit family of employees, ensuring at least some stability during a very unstable year.

Local Mayors of will honor their Citizens of the Year at the event, describing how each has made a positive change in the region: Blue Springs will recognize Cindy Miller and Dale Carter, Grain Valley will recognize David Ward, Independence will recognize Karen Downey, Lake Tapawingo will recognize Tom Goddard, Lee's Summit will recognize Bob & Candy White, Oak Grove will recognize Maeghan Timothy, Raytown will recognize Allan Thompson, and Sugar Creek will recognize Stan Sagehorn.

And finally, we will recognize the outstanding leadership of local healthcare heroes from six local hospitals who worked selflessly and tirelessly in their hospitals throughout the pandemic to keep the rest of us safe and healthy. Those being honored are Dr. Lorraine Duncan with Centerpoint Medical Center, Laura Peckham with Truman Medical Center-Lakewood, Angela Haley with St. Mary's Hospital, Dr. John Ireland with Lee's Summit Medical Center, Susie Krug with Saint Luke's East Hospital, and Amy Latimer with Children's Mercy Hospital East.

We hope you will join us for this celebration as we honor these individuals who have made a significant difference in our community. Although their areas of impact are quite varied, they are united by a common goal, improving and enriching their local communities. Truman Heartland Community Foundation is delighted to bring this in-person event back to our supporters in 2021. Like everyone else, THCF had to pivot to digital last year due to Covid. So, the opportunity to gather once again and celebrate our local communities and these very special people holds even more meaning.

We invite all our supporters to join us on September 25 at the Sheraton Kansas City Hotel at Crown Center for this celebration of extraordinary community service. The 2021 Toast of our Towns Gala will not be a socially distanced event, and guests are advised to follow all applicable laws, regulations, and guidelines to ensure the health and safety of all our guests. You can learn more about the Truman Heartland Community Foundation honorees, event sponsorship opportunities, and individual tickets sales at www.THCF.org/Gala or by calling 816.836.8189.

Comments are closed.


4200 Little Blue Parkway, Ste. 340 | Independence, MO 64057   (816) 836-8189   Email Us   Enews Sign up   Donor login